Day Twenty-Three

Now this is a change for the better.

This morning I meditated for Endure Elements, then immediately cast it upon myself.  At first I did not notice anything; there was a tingling sensation, then the feeling as if I had just encountered a cool, pleasant breeze.  Then nothing unusual.

I doubted it had worked, but I was certain it had cast properly.  Already dressed, I gathered the equipment I would need for our journey, and met the others for breakfast.  On our way to the wharf district to meet our barge, I started to suspect something was different.  The sun was on us now, and while there were high clouds and a hint of breeze, I was definitely not working up the light sweat that my associates were on our brisk march to the river.  Only Alex looked perfectly at ease with the warm air, as I was.  Perhaps he has the same secret weapon.

By two o’clock in the afternoon, I was completely content with life.  The spell was working perfectly.  In full clothes and sitting unshaded, and with no appreciable air coming off the water as we floated downstream, I might well have been sitting out on an overcast spring morning.  Not a drip of sweat came off me, compared to streams of the stuff coming off my fellows.  Tomorrow I will try wearing my close-fitting leather armor under my clothes.  This really IS amazing.

No events of interest to write about.  Gord and BOB seem to be getting on well.  Pulp complained loudly, but not seriously, about the noise coming from Reece’s apartment next door to his.  Reece offered, next time, to send one of his ladies Pulp’s way.  The group found that very funny.

On this river again.  Such boredom.  Not even the suggestion of an ambush or encounter to come.  Would that I had the money for more materials to make scrolls.  The idle chatter from my barge-mates would be a distraction to my efforts, anyway.

This boredom is not unlike most of my journey to Ælim by ship.  I had mentioned some pages back that I would touch upon the Bonnie Heather and that whole affair.  What time better than now, I suppose.  I will include it as inserts to this journal, when I am able, these next few days.

Journal of Dr. Marcus Grant
Healing Cleric of Pelor, Order of St-Jude Academy (Silabrek)
23rd Day, first day down-river of Callia, territory of Ælim.

 

 

About d20horizons

D&D player.
This entry was posted in 4th Week and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

