Day Twenty-Seven

I am weak.  Weak but able to move about.

The fever has broken.  Very early this morning.  Some of my appetite is returned, and before dawn I was able to sleep.  The delirium is passed.  It took all my resolve to write down a few words yesterday – yet reading over my feeble work, I do not recall having done it.

One of the insects carried something, one or more of the thousands of vicious, mindless biting pests that set its teeth or barb into me on that hike.  Yesterday I spent under foul-smelling blankets, desperate for warmth and then sweltering and suffering, kicking the blankets away.  The fever came in the night, and I was unable even to meditate by daybreak.  Endure Elements would have done me no service against the chills and intense sweats of this pestbourne plague, anyway.

My fellows looked in on me, before they set out to scout the surroundings.  They hesitated to go without me, but at the same time they did not expect to find the goblinoids; only to find their tracks or other signs of their proximity.

They departed two hours before noon.  I am told they did not return last night, and while we are between lunch and dinnertime as I write this, they have not yet returned.

My strength ebbs; I must rest.  Today I meditated for a full suite of Purify Food & Drink spells, and have used them liberally.  I expect I will be much better tomorrow.  I will write addendum to this journal then, and include my fellow’s report when they return.  I hope they have been well without me.

Journal of Dr. Marcus Grant
Healing Cleric of Pelor, Order of St-Jude Academy (Silabrek)
27th Day, marsh village, territory of Ælim.

 

 

About d20horizons

D&D player.
This entry was posted in 4th Week and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

